I-Yod Verbs

I might be wrong; but I think I’ve got everything covered when I say that there are only three options for a I-Yod verb:

  1. It says where it is but quiesces – so it’s obvious. (for example יָטַב in imperfect is יִיטַב)
  2. It disappears:
    1. like a I-Nun – so look for a dagesh in the second root letter – but this type is quite rare.
    2. The vowel under the preformative undergoes compensatory lengthening (i.e. it goes to a tsere instead of a hireq)
  3. It changes into a waw (in stems like Niphal, Hiphil and Hophal)

Leave a Reply

